Articles on: Kid-Safe Experience

How can I remove or uninstall Safe Surfer from a Kid-Safe Smartphone or Tablet?

If you would like to stop using the Safe Surfer Kid-Safe Experience on a Kid-Safe device, you can find out how to do so in this article. Doing this will also cancel the subscription for the Kid-Safe device in question.


Please note that this guide is not applicable for devices protected by Safe Surfer through the Google Play Store (that is, for non-Kid-Safe devices). If the device was protected by Safe Surfer through the Play Store, you can find out how to uninstall Safe Surfer for Android by clicking this link.


IMPORTANT: If you plan to sell or give away this device, the Kid-Safe Experience will not be transferred to the new owner.


Step 1: Delete Kid-Safe device from the Safe Surfer dashboard


Visit the Devices menu (https://my.safesurfer.io/devices). On the Devices menu, select the user that this device is assigned to > click the applicable device listing > click the three-dot button found inside the listing > Delete.



When prompted, click the Turn off option. This will disconnect the Samsung Knox technology from the Kid-Safe device.



On the following prompt, click the OK button. Once this is done, the device can continue to be used as a normal Samsung smartphone.


Please note that once the device listing has been deleted, the Safe Surfer app will still be on the phone. You can find out how to uninstall the Safe Surfer app by clicking this link.



Step 2: Factory reset device (optional)


If you would like to sell or give away this device, you can factory reset it. You can do this by navigating to the Settings app > General management > Reset > Factory data reset > Reset > Delete all. (If a Google account and/or a Samsung account was signed in to the phone, you'll be prompted to sign out.)


If you see a messages that says "Parent needed", this means that a child Google account connected to Google Family Link is on the device. You can resolve this by first navigating to the Settings app > Accounts and backup > Manage accounts > tap your child's Google account > Remove account > enter the password for your Google account as the parent. Once the removal of the child account has been confirmed, try navigating to the Reset menu again.

Updated on: 13/10/2026

Was this article helpful?

Share your feedback

Cancel

Thank you!