Wi-Fi Lifeguard gives you control over what sites and services your connected devices at home can access. This brief guide will show you how to get started!

1. Log in to Wi-Fi Lifeguard

Ensure that you are connected to your Wi-Fi Lifeguard router on the device that you will be using to change its settings. Open the administration panel by using your favourite web browser (for example, Firefox or Google Chrome).

Enter your Safe Surfer account credentials. If you haven't made an account, the Wi-Fi Lifeguard administration panel will prompt you to create one.



Click the "Block & Monitor" button on the left sidebar to get forwarded to the online dashboard. If you don't see it, you might need to update your firmware. You will need at least firmware version 4.0.1.



2. Setting blocked sites

On the left sidebar, click the "Block Sites" button. This will take you to a page where you can select your Wi-Fi Lifeguard router and any devices connected to it. Once you have selected a device, you can override the default filter rules and specify specific ones per device if you wish.



3. Setting screentime rules

On the left sidebar, click the "My Devices" menu. This will take you to a page where you can view all the devices associated with your account. You can view Wi-Fi-connected devices by selecting the "View x Device(s) on Network" button.



In the following menu, you can view the devices belonging to your Wi-Fi Lifeguard network.



Click "Jump To" > "Screentime Timetables" on any device to go to rule settings.



From the following menu you can define rules regarding what kind of content can be accessed when.

Want to give it a go? Select the "Edit" button at the upper right. Select the "+ Add" button. Select the proceed arrow with "Block Sites" selected. Once you have selected an item (or items) from the categories, filtering, and/or blocklist tabs, select the proceed arrow. Once you have selected the times that you would like this content to be blocked, select the proceed arrow. Once this process has been completed, select the "Add Timetable" button. Select the blue "Save" button at the upper right. This content will now be blocked at the times specified. If you would like to tweak a rule, select the "Edit" button again and then select the three dot icon next to the one you wish to change.

Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!