How to uninstall Safe Surfer on a Chromebook

This guide will show you how to uninstall the Safe Surfer app for Chromebook devices.


This uninstallation guide is for the normal app-based protection method. If you originally used the alternative protection method to install protection (that is, with no app), you can view the correct guide by clicking this link.


Uninstall the Safe Surfer app


IMPORTANT: As protection is installed per-user (rather than device-wide), you will need to repeat this uninstallation guide for any other applicable user accounts on the Chromebook.


Open the Launcher on the left-hand side of the dock. Find the Safe Surfer app listing, then click it with two fingers (that is, to right-click it). Click the "App info" option.



Click the Manage permissions menu.



Click the Safe Surfer app icon.



Enter your PIN, then click the OK button.



Click the grey permissions app on the dock.



Click the Safe Surfer app icon again.



Click the Uninstall option.



Click the "Deactivate & uninstall" option.



Click the OK option. (You can close out of the permissions window once Safe Surfer has been uninstalled.)


If you changed the account management features during setup, you can restore them by opening the Settings app > Privacy and security > Manage other people > turn on the "Guest browsing" feature, and turn off the "Limit who can sign in" feature. In addition, you can disable any parental controls for the Google Play Store by navigating to the Play Store app > click the profile icon at the upper-right corner > Settings > Family > Content restrictions > click the switch and enter your PIN > OK.



Uninstallation complete


You have now successfully uninstalled Safe Surfer from this device. As the account holder, you can also remove the listing for the now unprotected device by visiting the Devices menu (https://my.safesurfer.io/devices). On the Devices menu, select the user that this device is assigned to > click the applicable device listing > click the three-dot button found inside the listing > Delete (and confirm).


Updated on: 09/09/2026

Was this article helpful?

Share your feedback

Cancel

Thank you!